Go Read This Book. Now.

These days, I’m so busy I barely have time to sit down and read a magazine, much less a whole book. Well, that changed recently when I picked up  My Year with Eleanora great memoir (don’t you just feel smarter saying that?) by Noelle Hancock. I’d been dying to read it after hearing many good things about it, and when I came across it at Borders’ going out of business sale–moment of silence please–I thought, why not?

I didn’t exactly know what to expect but Hancock’s book hit close to home with me. Laid off due to the recent state of the economy, Hancock finds herself with no job, income, or any idea of what to do next. Oh and did I mention she’s about to turn 30? That’s a lot to deal with. So with a little help from Eleanor Roosevelt, she decides to take a year and do one thing every day that scares her.

Now I won’t ruin the whole book for you, but she goes on some pretty amazing adventures (trapeze school, swimming with sharks, and piloting a fighter jet…just to name a few) and discovers herself along the way. It’s an inspiring story of overcoming your fears and will definitely remind you not to take the people in your life for granted and live every day to the fullest. And I’m sure we could all use that reminder every now and then!

Leave a Reply

