New Year? Yes. New Me? We’ll See…

To do or not to do…that’s the question on my mind. I’ve been thinking a lot about the new year and whether or not I want to make any resolutions. Now, I’m typically a cynical person who doesn’t believe in making resolutions because a) I don’t really see the point, b) it shouldn’t take putting up a new calendar to better yourself and c) most people don’t stick to their resolutions anyway.

But after the year I’ve had, I’m thinking I might break tradition and make some resolutions of my own, and actually try to stick to them! So, in no particular order, here are my New Year’s resolutions:

  1. Save $$$. This really goes without saying, but I definitely need to be more careful with my money this year. As you could probably have guessed from my previous post, I’m a sucker for online shopping. I get those damn emails on a daily basis offering me coupons and free gifts with purchase and I’m not gonna take it anymore! I’ve taken to unsubscribing to almost all of them (ok, I’ll be honest, some of the emails feature really cute clothes…they can stay) and saving as much as possible. Saving all this money will allow me to do some much-needed traveling…and if a vintage Louis Vuitton cross body bag happens to end up in my closet, I’ll know I worked hard for my money and it’s okay to splurge every now and then. Just as long as it’s not every week.
  2. Be healthier. Yes, I know every other person in the world makes this their resolution but still…it needs to happen. I’ll admit I’ve never been one of those girls to sit around complaining that I’m fat, because honestly I don’t think I am. But lately I’ve been slacking on working out and eating right. So from now on, I’ll be skipping the pizza and burritos and going back to salads, whole grain pasta, and fish. And even though the weather’s getting colder, I’m going to try and get out for a jog when I can stand it. If not, there’s always workout DVDs and free weights for use inside. Luckily I just picked up a sweet pair of Nikes…on sale! How’s that for saving money? ;)
  3. Be a bigger bitch. Now I know that sounds bad, but let me explain. I always feel like I’m “the nice girl”–always understanding, easygoing, and okay with things. That sometimes leads to being taken advantage of, broken hearts, and feeling bad about myself because I let people walk all over me. This year, I’m going to make an effort to do things my way, not take shit from people, and stand up for myself. And if that makes me a bitch, so be it.
So those are my top three resolutions for 2012. Do you think I can handle them? Actually it doesn’t really matter if you do or not, because the world’s ending this year anyway. So live it up while you can everybody…life is too short to wait!
Leave a Reply

