It’s a Maybelline Mascara Showdown!

I love splurging on high-end mascaras as much as the next girl, but lately I’ve been on a drugstore mascara kick. I seem drawn to Maybelline mascaras, and this post is a showdown between my three most recent Maybelline purchases.

(Side note–The whole time I was typing the title to this post, I couldn’t get this clip of my favorite Project Runway alum Daniel Vosovic out of my head.)

Also, I was going to take some comparison photos but trying to take a close-up selfie of your eyelashes is just awkward and uncomfortable for everyone involved (namely me, myself, and I), so you’ll just have to take my word for it.

IMG_3257The first mascara is one I have been using for a while now:  Volum’ Express One by One Mascara. I’ll admit, I first bought this mascara because I liked the packaging, but it does a great job of curling, separating and volumizing my lashes. As a self-proclaimed eyelash curler addict, I’ve found that I can forgo curling my lashes and still achieve a wide-awake look with this mascara. I also really like this mascara’s wand. It’s the perfect size and is able to catch those tiny inner corner lashes.

Next on deck is The Mega Plush Volum’ Express Mascara. This mascara’s most unique feature is its flexible wand which does take some getting used to. The brush is a bit larger than One by One’s, but it’s not unmanageable. Overall this is a perfectly fine mascara, but I found that it clumps a little bit more than the One by One. To help with this, I layer the two mascaras to achieve a full, voluminous look.

Lastly is Maybelline’s The Falsies Volum’ Express Mascara which was a big of a letdown for me. I heard so many good things about The Falsies but it’s just not for me. I found the curved wand difficult to work with, and the formula did nothing for my lashes. I am definitely not a fan of this mascara and I regret purchasing it. In fact, by the time you read this, I’ve probably already thrown it away.

All in all, two of the three mascaras I experimented with worked for me. Not too shabby. I’ll continue to use the One by One mascara, but probably won’t go out of my way to repurchase The Mega Plush. And, Maybelline, if I may quote Regina George: Stop trying to make The Falsies happen. It’s not going to happen.

What is your favorite mascara at the moment? Have you tried any of the ones mentioned in the post? Tell me in the Comments section please!

Like what you see? Check out That Tall Girl. on Facebook!

8 thoughts on “It’s a Maybelline Mascara Showdown!

  1. Sam says:

    I usually always buy drugstore mascaras as they usually work well enough for me. I wish you would have been able to get pictures of each mascara on your lashes and the differences between them. I’ve done mascara swatches before though, and I know it can be a pain having to wash your eyes between each photo.

Leave a Reply

