Product Review: L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder Makeup

Ok, I’ll admit it: I spend a fair amount of my free time watching makeup videos on YouTube and reading product reviews. Call it a guilty pleasure, but I really do enjoy it! During a recent YouTube binge, I came across a review of one of L’Oreal’s newest products, Magic Nude Liquid Powder Bare Skin Perfecting Makeup (whew…one word, L’Oreal: EDIT).

IMG_3343

What first appealed to me about this product was the fact that it claims to transform from a liquid to a matte powder finish. This sounded a bit like the much-buzzed-about Immaculate Liquid Powder Foundation by Hourglass. It also has SPF 18 which is always a nice bonus! Of course I proceeded to watch as many videos as I could stand and I even read a few reviews on the product. I decided I needed to go out that night and get it. At Target. Obviously. 

I had a really hard time deciding on a shade in the store. Most of the shades looked about the same in the bottle, but I settled on Nude Beige which ended up being a pretty good match for my skin tone (I also wear Nude Beige in L’Oreal’s True Match foundation, if that helps).

IMG_3340I tried this makeup for the first time yesterday. First, I applied Benefit’s POREfessional to my face, and after shaking well, I applied the Magic Nude makeup with my fingers per the bottle’s instructions (see right). I prefer using a brush, but hey, there’s a first time for everything, right? The makeup applied smoothly and offered light to medium coverage. Besides having a few small breakouts, I don’t have any major skin issues, so a full coverage foundation isn’t necessary. If you feel like you need more coverage though, you can definitely add a second layer.

Once the product was all blended in, I followed with my usual concealer and a light dusting of translucent powder. My skin looked pretty great! I really like natural-looking makeup and this product definitely gave me that effect.

After a full day of work and running errands, my skin still looked good by the end of the day. I feel like the makeup helped my skin stay somewhat shine-free throughout the day, but I still won’t be giving up my oil-blotting sheets any time soon.

If you’re looking for a light to medium coverage makeup that will leave your skin looking natural, give Magic Nude a try. It’s definitely much, much cheaper than other liquid to powder foundations, and I actually enjoy applying it! If you have tried it, let me know what you think in the comments section!

4 thoughts on “Product Review: L’Oreal Magic Nude Liquid Powder Makeup

  1. Sarah says:

    Please write a post about oil control makeup! I have the oiliest skin and struggle with finding makeup with oil control and staying power.

    kthxbaiiiiiiiii

Leave a Reply

