Girl’s Night Out With Clinton Kelly!

For as long as I can remember, I’ve been obsessed with makeover shows. My absolute favorite one is What Not to Wear. I’ve watched it since the very first episode, and when I heard Clinton Kelly was going to be in town, I jumped at the chance to go see him.

Clinton has partnered with Macy’s to offer free style seminars (aka “Girl’s Night Out with Clinton Kelly”) across the country. On Friday night, my mom (and fellow What Not to Wear fan) and I were front row to see him and absolutely loved every minute of it!

IMG_3769

Clinton started out by giving us a little behind-the-scenes scoop on What Not to Wear and The Chew (basically doing whirlwind, sometimes frustrating, makeovers versus “eating, drinking and doing crafts!”), before asking if anyone in the audience felt like they needed help with their outfit. Of course, my mother raised her hand, and Clinton picked her! Honestly, I think she wore a not-so-great outfit on purpose…just in case Clinton offered to do makeovers! She’s one smart lady!

IMG_3787

After giving my mom some personal style advice (and a huge hug), the fashion show began! Here are a few of my favorite looks from the show:

IMG_3791

IMG_3795

IMG_3799

IMG_3796

IMG_3806

IMG_3807

In between looks, an Estee Lauder associate gave a mini-makeover to none other than Holly from Season 7 of What Not to Wear (of course I recognized her the second I saw her sit down just a few seats away)!

IMG_3804

Once the fashion show was over, Clinton took questions from the audience. He was asked everything from “How do I dress appropriately for my age?” to “What are fashion trends for men?”

Clinton’s final remarks were my favorite part of the evening: Wear what makes you feel good, and don’t worry about what anyone else thinks. Or, in his own words: Wear something cute and don’t take any crap!

IMG_3775

Like what you see? Check out That Tall Girl on Facebook

Leave a Reply

