Product Review: L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Mascara

14741799_201309031522Since my last mascara review several months ago, I’ve branched out and tried a few different mascaras. The latest one I’ve tried is the much buzzed-about L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Mascara

There have been many mixed reviews on this particular product, so I figured the only true way to know if it was any good was to try it myself.

This mascara features a unique, asymmetrical wand, referred to by L’Oreal as the “Butterfly Brush” (see photo below).  The wand’s shape is meant to catch every lash–including those hard-to-reach inner and outer ones. And as someone who always struggles with this (#firstworldproblems, I know), I was excited to find this out.

However, the wand is not the easiest to work with. The whole time I was applying this mascara to my lashes, I was afraid I was going to poke myself in the eye. I did eventually get used to it though, and the effect on my lashes was pretty good!

VoluminousButterfly_BrandPageTout_2

I also decided to try this mascara out on my lower lashes. While I wasn’t crazy about the brush on my top lashes, it was amazing for my little bottom lashes. The curve of the brush fit very well against the shape of my lower lash line, and the formula was nice and light so my baby lashes weren’t weighed down too much.

Overall, I like this mascara. While the wand takes a bit of getting used to, I don’t regret buying it. I will continue to use it although I may not repurchase in the future. However, if you are ever looking for a good mascara to use on your bottom lashes, I highly recommend this one!

Have you tried this mascara? What other drugstore mascaras should I try out?

 

Like what you see? Check out That Tall Girl on Facebook

4 thoughts on “Product Review: L’Oreal Voluminous Butterfly Mascara

      • Chelsey says:

        It’s too much work for me! I like being able to just sweep it on and then go. This takes so much effort. If it was worth the effort, I’d take the time but I don’t think it is.

Leave a Reply

