All About Brushes

As I was trying to decide what to write about next on my little blog, I realized that I talk and talk and talk about different beauty products, but I’ve never really talked about the brushes that I use to apply them. So, today’s post will be all about my most-used brushes and how I like to use them!

s1393628-main-hero1. Tarte Airbrush Finish Bamboo Foundation Brush–I’m not kidding when I say that this brush (pictured at left) changed my life. I used to use a synthetic foundation brush to apply my foundation (and even a gross latex sponge back in middle school and high school) but it was not cutting it. I ordered this brush when I ordered the Tarte Amazonian Clay Foundation and it’s just a dream. It evenly applies my foundation and makes blending out makeup a breeze. It’s by far the most expensive brush I’ve ever owned, but it’s been totally worth it to me! For a little more info on it, check out this post.

2. Powder Brush–I use two. The first one is the Powder Brush by Mark. I’ve had it for years and I love it, but sometimes it drives me crazy. I’ve “replaced” it with the Powder Brush by Real Techniques but I still find myself reaching for it to apply loose and pressed powders and for applying bronzer when I’m not doing a lot of contouring.

3. Mark Blush + Bronzer Brush–I occasionally use this for blush or bronzer, but only when I want to concentrate color onto my cheeks. Otherwise, I use it as a blending brush to make sure my bronzer and blush are all nice and blended together and I have no harsh lines. The Mark brush is no longer available, but any flat top brush would do the trick.

4. Mark All Over Eye shadow Brush–If I could only use one eye shadow brush, this would be the one. Its shape lets me pack plenty of color onto my lid, but the rounded top lets me blend and even apply color to my crease.

5. Mark Eye Shadow Blending Brush–This brush (see below, left) is mostly used for–you guessed it–blending eye shadow. Whenever I have harsh lines from my eye shadow, I go back in with this brush and smooth everything out. It also works well for lightly applying shadow to the outer V of my eye and applying setting powder to my under eyes. This particular brush is no longer available but the Deluxe Crease Brush in this Starter Kit from Real Techniques looks pretty similar.

mark-blending-brush-profileย  ย s1291327-main-hero

6. Mark Eyeliner Brush–As the name suggests, I use this brush when I want to use a dark shadow as eye liner on either my upper or lower lashes. The precise tip of the brush (see above, right) is great because I can easily control where the color goes. ย Again, this particular brush is no longer available (I hope that doesn’t mean my brushes are gross and I need to get rid of them?!?) but this one by Mark is a great substitute that I also use.

7. Sponge Tip Brush–I love using this brush when I want to apply a highlight shade to the inner corners of my eye. It fits perfectly with the shape of my eye and I’m not worried that I’ll poke myself in the eye! I also use it to smoke out shadow on my lower lash line. I have NO idea where mine is from, but you can find them at Sephora (and probably even cheaper at Target).

While this is a list of my most-used brushes, it’s definetely not all of them. I like to play around with my brushes and try out new ways to use them.

Which brushes are your must-haves?

 

Like what you see? Check out That Tall Girl on Facebook!

Leave a Reply

