My Nighttime Skin Care Routine

Ever since my last birthday (the big 2-7), I’ve made an effort to step up my skin care game. I’m not getting any younger and I’m willing to put in a little extra work to keep my skin looking as fresh as possible. And, based on the fact that I get told I don’t look as old as I am at least once a week, I’d say it’s working!

I’ve been using the following products nightly and my skin has been in tip top shape lately. Keep in mind that this is what works for me–feel free to leave any tips or suggestions in the Comments section!

Step 1: Take it off–your makeup, that is! I’m currently using Bioderma, but there are plenty of similar drugstore products out there. I focus mostly on my eye makeup and I find that this cleansing water does a great job of removing any mascara or liquid liner.

313AVLbEPOL

Step 2: Lather up. I like to use a gel cleanser for this step and, if I’m feeling extra grimy, I’ll wash my face twice. Every now and then I take it up a notch with my ClarisonicΒ or a facial scrub.

13219355

Step 3: Time to tone. I’ve been using the Neutrogena Oil-Free Acne Stress Control Triple-Action Toner for quite a while and I find that it leaves my skin feeling extra clean and fights blemishes.

6805345_320x385

Step 4: Oil up! I’m a huge fan of facial oils so this is definitely my favorite step. I’m currently using Kiehl’s Midnight Recovery Concentrate but I’ve also used tarte’s Maracuja Oil and Boots Botanics’ Organic Facial Oil. They’re all great in my opinion!

_6016387

Step 5: Moisturize. If there’s one skin care item I don’t mind splurging on every now and then, it’s moisturizers. My current eye cream is this one by Ahava. For night cream, I alternate between Philosophy’s Hope in a Jar Night and L’Oreal’s Youth Code Texture Perfector Day/Night Cream

revitalize-extreme-eye-cream-ics1500651-main-Lhero

Phew–that seems like a lot of work when I type it all out but it’s a process I’ve really come to enjoy. Please feel free to share any of your favorite skin care products with me!

6 thoughts on “My Nighttime Skin Care Routine

  1. faiza_beyoutiful says:

    I want to try Hope in a Jar -what are your thoughts on it? I cannot live without soaking makeup pads with bioderma and laying them on my eyes to ‘loosen’ the eye makeup before I cleanse! ❀

    • thattallgirl says:

      That’s EXACTLY what I do with Bioderma too! And the Hope in a Jar is an investment but I really like it. I feel like it makes my skin more even and smooth. I picked up a gift set that had that product and a few other Philosophy items in it so I got a little more bang for my buck πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

