My Light & Natural Face Makeup Routine

One of my favorite things (besides bacon) is when people tell me I look like I’m not wearing any makeup. Because even though I’ve been obsessed with makeup since middle school, I don’t like to wear tons of it. For me, light and natural is the name of the game!

Since I am constantly being asked what makeup I use, I thought I’d share my face makeup routine. I’ve been using most of these products for a while now and they make a great base for any look!
First thing’s first: primer! After cleansing and moisturizing, I always apply a face primer. It fills in any pores and fine lines and makes my skin look and feel incredibly smooth. I’m a big fan of Benefit’s The POREfessional which you can find out more about in this post and video.

IMG_3007After you’re all primed, the next step is foundation to even everything out. During the summer months I definitely prefer lighter coverage. To achieve that, I reach for Jouer’s Matte Moisture Tint and apply it with Tarte’s Airbrush Finish Bamboo Foundation Brush (try it–it’s amazing!). If I feel like I need a bit more coverage, I’ll mix in some of Tarte’s Amazonian Clay 12-Hour Full Coverage Foundation.

Once everything is evened out, it’s time for my favorite step: concealer! Yes, I’ve turned into a bit of a concealer junkie. Don’t. Judge. I usually attack my undereye circles first using either Benefit’s boi-ing or MAC’s Prolongwear Concealer. If I REALLY look tired, I’ll pop a little bit of Benefit’s Erase Paste under my eyes to brighten things up. Then if there are any imperfections that my foundation may have missed, I go after that with my concealer using
either a concealer brush or just my fingers.

OK, so now your face looks absolutely perfect. And you don’t want all that hard work to go to waste, do you? Don’t forget to set everything with a light dusting of powder! Whether you choose pressed or loose powder, this is the final step to make sure everything stays pretty and put all day long. My go-to face powder is Mark Powder Buff but I sometimes use a translucent powder…it just depends! PROD_1138556_XL Now that I’ve spilled all my secrets, tell me some of yours! What are your favorite face products? What is your face makeup routine like? Tell me in the comments section!

P.S. Does anyone want to see a video of this? I might be into it…

5 thoughts on “My Light & Natural Face Makeup Routine

    • cnartelt says:

      You should definitely give it a try! I have oily skin but this product works really well. It’s great for summer because it’s light but still gives a decent amount of coverage!

Leave a Reply

